You are here

Federal Holidays

2022 Holiday Schedule

New Year's Day Friday, December 31, 2021*
Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. Monday, January 17
Washington's Birthday Monday, February 21 **
Memorial Day Monday, May 30
Juneteenth National Independence Day
Monday, June 20 ***
Independence Day Monday, July 4
Labor Day Monday, September 5
Columbus Day Monday, October 10
Veterans Day Friday, November 11
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 24
Christmas Day Monday, December 26 ****

* January 1, 2022 (the legal public holiday for New Years Day) falls on a Saturday.  For most Federal employees, Friday December 31, 2021 will be treated as a holiday or pay and leave purposes.

** This holiday is designated as “Washington’s Birthday” in Section 6103(a) of Title 5 of the United States Code, which is the law that specifies holidays for Federal employees. Though other institutions such as state and local governments and private businesses may use other names, it is our policy to always refer to holidays by the names designated in the law.

*** June 19, 2022 (the legal public holiday for Juneteenth National Independence Day), falls on a Sunday. For most Federal employees, Monday, June 20, will be treated as a holiday for pay and leave purposes.

**** December 25, 2022 (the legal public holiday for Christmas Day), falls on a Sunday*. For most Federal employees, Monday, December 26, will be treated as a holiday for pay and leave purposes. (See Section 3(a) of Executive Order 11582, February 11, 1971.)