You are here

Federal Holidays

2021 Holiday Schedule

New Year's Day Friday, January 1
Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday Monday, January 18
President's Day Monday, February 15 *
Memorial Day Monday, May 31
Independence Day Friday, July 5 **
Labor Day Monday, September 6
Columbus Day Monday, October 11
Veteran's Day Wednesday, November 11
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 25
Christmas Day Friday, December 24 ***

* This holiday is designated as “Washington’s Birthday” in Section 6103(a) of Title 5 of the United States Code, which is the law that specifies holidays for Federal employees. Though other institutions such as state and local governments and private businesses may use other names, it is our policy to always refer to holidays by the names designated in the law

** July 4, 2021 (the legal public holiday for Independence Day), falls on a Sunday. For most Federal employees, Monday, July 5, will be treated as a holiday for pay and leave purposes. (See 5 U.S.C. 6103(b).)

*** December 25, 2021 (the legal public holiday for Christmas Day), falls on a Saturday. For most Federal employees, Friday, December 24, will be treated as a holiday for pay and leave purposes. (See Section 3(a) of Executive Order 11582, February 11, 1971.)